O'Reilly Forums: Table Data Insertion - O'Reilly Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Table Data Insertion Single Column rejects data

#1 User is offline   PhilPense 

  • Active Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 16-May 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington, DC
  • Interests:Travel, Information Technology

Posted 18 May 2012 - 01:49 PM

Able to enter data in the recently created table. Everything except row1 column 6... invalid value. Don't know how to address this. Looking for troubleshooting guidance

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: Invalid Value for column 6.jpg

0

#2 User is offline   Sikta_26785 

  • Active Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: 18-May 11

Posted 22 May 2012 - 07:25 PM

Boolean data type means that 'true' or 'false' are valid values. YES is not a valid data type for this field. (Note: it could be '0' or '1' in this entry format.)
0

#3 User is offline   PhilPense 

  • Active Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 16-May 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington, DC
  • Interests:Travel, Information Technology

Posted 24 May 2012 - 01:18 PM

View PostSikta_26785, on 22 May 2012 - 07:25 PM, said:

Boolean data type means that 'true' or 'false' are valid values. YES is not a valid data type for this field. (Note: it could be '0' or '1' in this entry format.)

0

#4 User is offline   PhilPense 

  • Active Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 16-May 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington, DC
  • Interests:Travel, Information Technology

Posted 24 May 2012 - 02:14 PM

View PostSikta_26785, on 22 May 2012 - 07:25 PM, said:

Boolean data type means that 'true' or 'false' are valid values. YES is not a valid data type for this field. (Note: it could be '0' or '1' in this entry format.)


Greetings Sikta:

As ususal, you have been helpful with my studies. I recognized the issue just after posting and so I solved this one myself. I have moved on and find another issue. The database has been populated and now I want to drag the table onto the form. The text is not specific on this and I have uploaded an image of my circumstance. My People table has no arrow next to it. The issue is how to get the Objectville form onto the IDE then drag 'people' onto it. Much thanks for your continued support.

Attached thumbnail(s)

  • Attached Image: Database Driven Controls.jpg

0

#5 User is offline   Sikta_26785 

  • Active Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: 18-May 11

Posted 25 May 2012 - 09:52 PM

These are the steps to make it look like it does in the book.

1) Right click Form1.cs in the solutions explorer and choose to "View Designer"
2) Select "People" in the Data Sources explorer
3) Click the dropdown arrow next to "People" and choose "Details" (NOTE: There are many different control types you can select here. Play around with them afterwards.)
4) Click and drag "People" onto the form.

You should now have something that looks like what is in the book. You can move the individual controls around and place the Objectville logo to complete it.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users