O'Reilly Forums: Ls-10 Folders ? - O'Reilly Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ls-10 Folders ?

#1 User is offline   billyfern 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 23-June 08

Posted 23 June 2008 - 09:58 AM

Hi Guys,

Have just received my NEW LS-10 and have been very impressed with it so far,
Have not had a chance to use it in real situations yet.
Also have not tried it with an SD card yet.

A question about the Folder structure ?
When viewed on my computer, On the Root of the Internal Memory,
There are Six Folders "DSS_FLDA to E"
and "MUSIC"
and a "OLYML_TB.DAT" File

Is it possible to change the names of the Folders:
ie.
"Folder A" becomes "Wildtracks"
"Folder B" becomes "Urban"
Etc.

I use a MAC with OS10.5.3 and connected with the USB,
and tried changing the name of one of the Folders on the LS-10
from "DSS_FLDA" to "DSS_FLDWT"
(the Original Names are DSS_FLDA, each containing a "OLYML_TB.DAT" file.)

After disconnecting and when checking on the LS-10, The folders were unchanged,
But when connecting the LS-10 again The Original Folders were unchanged and My Edited Folder added (but not showing on the LS-10 Menu)

I Deleted and trashed "My" New Folder.
And now hopefully, you guys can help me.
I Hope that this Question makes sense.

Billyfern unsure.gif
0

#2 User is offline   DavidBattino 

  • O'Reilly Digital Media Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 23 June 2008 - 03:01 PM

QUOTE
Is it possible to change the names of the Folders:


I haven't checked the manual, but I'm 99% sure that changing a folder name in the internal memory or on an SD card will prevent the Olympus from seeing the folder as a viable recording location. In other words, don't do it. rolleyes.gif

A possible workaround would be to create aliases of those folders on your Mac desktop. You could then name the aliases anything you wanted.

I use a five-folder Olympus voice recorder and after a while simply remember that memos go in Folder A, concert recordings go in B, ambient recordings go in C, shopping lists go in D, and To Do items go in E.
David Battino
Audio Editor
O'Reilly Digital Media
0

#3 User is offline   billyfern 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 23-June 08

Posted 23 June 2008 - 05:08 PM

QUOTE (David Battino @ Jun 24 2008, 12:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I haven't checked the manual, but I'm 99% sure that changing a folder name in the internal memory or on an SD card will prevent the Olympus from seeing the folder as a viable recording location. In other words, don't do it. rolleyes.gif

A possible workaround would be to create aliases of those folders on your Mac desktop. You could then name the aliases anything you wanted.

I use a five-folder Olympus voice recorder and after a while simply remember that memos go in Folder A, concert recordings go in B, ambient recordings go in C, shopping lists go in D, and To Do items go in E.



Thank You David,
I Kinda guessed that at the moment you would not be able to mess with the folders,
I guess the Operating System needs an orderly system.

Who knows what future Firmware updates may bring.

Cheers
Billy



0

#4 User is offline   LewnWorx 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 22-June 08

Posted 26 June 2008 - 03:13 PM

QUOTE (billyfern @ Jun 23 2008, 05:58 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Guys,

Have just received my NEW LS-10 and have been very impressed with it so far,
Have not had a chance to use it in real situations yet.
Also have not tried it with an SD card yet.

A question about the Folder structure ?
When viewed on my computer, On the Root of the Internal Memory,
There are Six Folders "DSS_FLDA to E"
and "MUSIC"
and a "OLYML_TB.DAT" File

Is it possible to change the names of the Folders:
ie.
"Folder A" becomes "Wildtracks"
"Folder B" becomes "Urban"
Etc.

I use a MAC with OS10.5.3 and connected with the USB,
and tried changing the name of one of the Folders on the LS-10
from "DSS_FLDA" to "DSS_FLDWT"
(the Original Names are DSS_FLDA, each containing a "OLYML_TB.DAT" file.)

After disconnecting and when checking on the LS-10, The folders were unchanged,
But when connecting the LS-10 again The Original Folders were unchanged and My Edited Folder added (but not showing on the LS-10 Menu)

I Deleted and trashed "My" New Folder.
And now hopefully, you guys can help me.
I Hope that this Question makes sense.

Billyfern unsure.gif


Unfortunately, there's no means of renaming EITHER folders or files from the unit itself, and as you've already found, if you do so to the device either mounted via USB or through the card via a card reader, all the unit does when you start it up is discover said ABCDE folders aren't there and "remake" them new, leaving your older renamed folders intact, but inaccessible to the device.

In theory this could be fixed in firmware, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
0

#5 User is offline   pdxotica 

  • Active Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 26-November 08

Posted 10 March 2009 - 09:32 AM

QUOTE (LewnWorx @ Jun 26 2008, 03:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Unfortunately, there's no means of renaming EITHER folders or files from the unit itself, and as you've already found, if you do so to the device either mounted via USB or through the card via a card reader, all the unit does when you start it up is discover said ABCDE folders aren't there and "remake" them new, leaving your older renamed folders intact, but inaccessible to the device.

In theory this could be fixed in firmware, but I wouldn't hold my breath.


Always hopeful though!

This is a pretty big inconvenience for me after MD.

The file name was a composite of the date and time, so all names were unique.

It also made separating an import very easy to do once on my computer.
0

#6 User is offline   GibsonHummingbird 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 09

Posted 04 November 2009 - 03:58 AM

You can actually create your own folders in the MUSIC folder.
0

#7 User is offline   Lame Spirale 

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 19-January 13

Posted 19 January 2013 - 02:23 AM

Hello,

I found how to rename folders into LS-10
Into folder DSS_FLDA you have FLD_NAME.DAT file.
Just edit it and change dir names:

Folder A Folder B Infield Youtube Vidz Folder E

They will not show under computer of course, but I love having my own names into the recorder

Just my little tip!
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users