Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

VB.NET???

#1 User is offline   redrobin 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 20 March 2008 - 02:18 PM

I need to learn ASP.NET but first I need a good book on VB.NET. (I took a 5-day course in it last year but have not used it so I have forgotten tons.) I am wondering if reading HF's bookon C# would help me at all. I was told that VB.NET and C# are very similar. I am only a beginner and so confused. I like HF's books as I find it easy to learn from them and this is why I am asking if you think that the C# book would be a good one for me to read.

Any comments?

#2 User is offline   mikefarinha 

• Veteran Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Business, IT, Learning

Posted 20 March 2008 - 03:44 PM

On the surface VB.NET and C# look very different to beginners. However once you learn the underlying structure of one it shouldn't be too hard to apply to the other.

Don't wait for a Head First VB.NET book, dig into the HF C# book, you wont be disappointed.
-Mike

#3 User is offline   redrobin 

• PipPipPip

Posted 20 March 2008 - 06:47 PM

I was hoping you would say that - that they were similar. I will get the book. At least it may teach me some of the basics of programming.

I can't find a single book out there that teaches the basic principals!

#4 User is offline   Waugh 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:girls

Posted 20 March 2008 - 11:30 PM

Once you learn C#, you won't want to bother going back to VB. =)

Patrick

#5 User is offline   daviangel 

• PipPipPip

Posted 22 March 2008 - 08:42 PM

(mikefarinha)
On the surface VB.NET and C# look very different to beginners. However once you learn the underlying structure of one it shouldn't be too hard to apply to the other.

Don't wait for a Head First VB.NET book, dig into the HF C# book, you wont be disappointed.